SANA Silver Coast Hotel


SANA Silver Coast Hotel
Av. Dr. Manuel Figueira Freire da Câmara, 2500-184 Caldas da Rainha


15 Sep 2019


4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

The Michael Lauren All Stars Trio

The Michael Lauren All Stars Trio consists of three musicians with renowned careers: guitarist Vasco Agostinho, who has collaborated with The Rui Teixeira Quintet and with José Menezes group, and leads the Vasco Agostinho Quartet, contrabassist João Custódio, who has collaborated with Victor Zamora, Mário Delgado and Nuno Ferreira and leader New York drummer Michael Lauren.

The Michael Lauren All Stars Trio follows in the tradition of one of the more important formations in jazz. Thus, they could not fail to draw inspiration from the musicians who have explored this lineup: artists like Bill Evans, Jim Hall, Kenny Burrell, Oscar Peterson or Keith Jarrett.

Among the features of this group we find the elegance of The Nat King Cole Trio, the intensity of The Herbie Hancock Trio, the interactivity of The Bill Evans Trio and the swing of Ahmad Jamal.

The group is open to developing thematic repertoires on request, and is currently revisiting the compositions of Sonny Rollins in preparation for their debut album “Sonny Rollins Revisited”.

Michael Lauren was born in New York in 1950 and began playing drums at the age of 8. His artistry fuses the boundaries of jazz, funk, blues, rock and world music. He obtained his B.A. from Johns Hopkins University and attended The Peabody Conservatory and Berklee College of Music. He is a founding member of the world renowned Drummers Collective NYC, where he taught for over twenty-five years.

Michael is currently Professor Adjunto of Drum Set Studies and was head of the Jazz Department (2005-2010, 2015-2017) at the Escola Superior de Música, Artes e Espectáculo (ESMAE) in Porto, Portugal. He is also the founder and artistic director of The International Drum Academy, Lisbon, Portugal.

Both of The Michael Lauren All Stars’ albums “Once Upon A Time In Portugal” and “Old School / Fresh Jazz” were chosen as one of the ten Best National Albums (Portugal) of 2016 and 2018 respectively.

He has played with Paul Anka, Chuck Berry, Charles Brown, Tom Jones, Benny Golson, Tom Harrell, Rick Margitza, Bob Mintzer, Milt Hinton, Bob Stewart, Dena DeRose, Jerry Jemmott, Kenny Davern, Bill Frisell, Mike Stern,  Silje Nergaard, Bobby Radcliff, Robert Kraft, Don Sebesky, Darlene Love,  Cornelius Bumpus, Ted Curson, Teo Macero, Orquestra de Jazz de Matosinhos, Jorge Costa Pinto Big Band, Orquestra Jazz Algarve, Quinteto Mario Santos, The Postcard Brass Band, Hugo Alves Quartet, 2 Tubas & Friends and many others.

Scroll Up